Photo Update – 12/20/09

Maintaining body composition. Paleo Diet + Intermittent Fasting. Can’t be any easier.

Height: 5’8″

Body weight: about 155 lbs.

Body fat between 5% and 8%. Probably closer to 5%.

This entry was posted in Dietary Habit, Exercise and Physical Activities, weight Loss and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Photo Update – 12/20/09

  1. sub4 says:

    God damn! What is that???

    • Johnny from The Lean Saloon says:

      Since you’re my brother, I’ll take that as a compliment!

      This is the result of the workout that you and I did when I visited you in Virginia — the one we did at George Mason University on the track field (and got kicked off).

      As for body fat, it’s the result of the Paleo diet and Intermittent fasting.

      • Kevin says:

        Dang! I’ve been watching your blog for several weeks now after jumping a link from MDA. You gotta fan here! haha

        I’m right at the starting stages and I always come back to you blog for that kick in the pants when I need it. Love how you keep it super simple. That’s the big motivator for me.

        I know you say you walk a lot, and do a somewhat unstructured workout routine with weights and bodyweight each week.

        Care to give a quickie run-through of a weight and bodyweight routine you might do? Just curious what you do, and I bet you keep em real simple too huh? 🙂

  2. Johnny from The Lean Saloon says:

    Hi Kevin,

    Thanks for the kind words. I enjoy running this blog.

    To answer your questions, I’ll give the basics of what I do:

    Strength training, about once a week (sometimes twice, sometimes none). I chose two or 3 from the following.

    – Deadlift OR Squat: 3-5 sets of 5 reps.
    – Overhead Press: 3 to 5 sets of 5 reps.
    – Weighted Pull-ups: 3 to 5 sets of 5 to 10 reps.
    – Weighted Dips: 3 to 5 sets of 5 to 10 reps.

    Bodyweight or Kettlebell training, about once a week. This is very random stuff that I do, choosing one or 2 from the following.

    – Sprints
    – Pushups to failure (variations like inverted, hand placements, etc.)
    – Pullups to failure (variations like hand placements, on bar, tree branches, etc.)
    – Lunges ’til it burns (variations like forward, side ways, reverse, up hill, down hill, etc.)
    – Burpees ’til I’m out of breath

    Then, as often as I can (sometimes 7 days a week, others just a couple), I go for a nice walk.

    —–

    Having written this, I must emphasize that my exercise is VERY random and simple. I try to do once a week of

    1. ONE DAY strength training
    2. ONE DAY bodyweight training
    3. Walk often.

    I’ll have to write an expanded post about exercising soon. My focus is mostly on diet, on this blog and in real life!

    • Kevin says:

      Awesome.

      That’s just about what I thought it might be.

      – Push Pull Press (With & W/O Weights)
      – Walk or Sprint

      – Emphasis on Diet/IF

      Simple Simple Simple

      Very cool man. Thanks!

      • Johnny from The Lean Saloon says:

        Kevin, that is spot-on.

        It’s not so much how it’s done, but that it’s done.

        But to SEE the hard work, you have to eat in a way that supports minimal (but sufficient) body fat.

        Thanks for your comments!

  3. Josh says:

    You look incredible, man. Been following the blog for a while now after seeing your link in Brad Pilon’s comment section. You’re definitely an inspiration. It’s refreshing to hear about (and see results of) fitness from a standpoint of reason–that the human is an adaptive organism, not a machine.

    • Johnny from The Lean Saloon says:

      Thanks, Josh.

      There are many ways of doing things and many of them work. Chose a way that is simple and sustainable.

      I find that eating lots of whole, real foods (those that come without nutritional labels) and doing Intermittent Fasting produce the best results for me (and lots of people I know).

      And this lifestyle seems to offer the best sustainability, or maximum adherence. I’ve heard people say that they can live like this indefinitely.

      It can’t get any easier. In fact, it has made other areas of my life easier — less hang-up with cooking meals, buying meals, trying to figure out if something is OK to eat or not, or if something will mess up “the diet.”

      Just eat whole, real foods. Skip a meal or two, or sometimes three. It’s that simple.

  4. Josh says:

    P.S. Can I just say, also, that it’s awesome that you’re not trying to sell anybody here?
    P.S.S. Hope that’s not the future plan! lol.

    • Johnny from The Lean Saloon says:

      Josh,

      I’m not planning on selling anything anytime soon… but ya never know. 😉

      I started this blog because friends and family used to ask repeatedly what I do to get and stay so LEAN.

      The blog made it easier to help them, but I thought I’d open it to others who may find it useful or motivating.

      Thanks for reading and I hope you’ll keep visiting!

  5. Grok says:

    Lookin good buddy!

    You’ve gotten leaner, and I got fatter LOL. I’m back on track and dieting through the holidays 🙂

  6. Al says:

    For me, the hard part is not the diet itself but the social crap that comes with. All of my friends and family just do not understand what I am trying to do. Everybody wants to either eat junk (anything non-Paleo), eat out, or eat out to eat junk.

    Maybe in the future you can write a post about how the social aspects of this lifestyle is probably the hardest part of the entire process. Thanks!

    • Johnny from The Lean Saloon says:

      @Al,

      I agree it’s a difficult subject in the company of others. Diet is like a religion to many. It’s something shared easily among those of the same faith, but never with those of others.

      I avoid talking about my dietary lifestyle with those I have a gut instinct would not care to hear (ironically most of them express inspiration and sometimes even resentment that I enjoy a healthy body with minimal body fat, while they suffer frequent ailments and excess weight).

      I think it’s why blogs of this nature do well: they quietly attract those who are willing or are ready to explore, experiment, and believe.

      A future post on this topic would be a good idea!

    • Grok says:

      Al, I pretty much had to take the attitude of “I don’t give a sh*t what they think!”

      I take pictures of my food etc.. to catalog & so I can reach my goals and keep me honest. If they think it’s weird or don’t like it… they can go get bent. They’re not really my friend.

      • Al says:

        Grok, can you explain in more detail about taking pictures of your food? Is this for journal purposes or what? I am really interested in your theory behind it all.

      • Grok says:

        Yep, basically just a food journal thing.

        Shows me I’m eating real food.
        Forces me to cook.
        Forces me to eat meals vs. snacking all day.

        Pictures of meals are a lot more interesting than handfuls of this and that… 😉 Also shows people (family) how healthy I eat when they think I’m:

        A.) Anorexic because I intermittently fast.
        B.) Sick/whittle away/die from eating weird paleo. LOL!

        http://castlegrok.com/realtime-photos/
        http://castlegrok.com/tag/food/

  7. Pingback: New Year’s Resolution « The Lean Saloon

  8. david pugh says:

    i keep hearing about this Paleo Diet..what is it?? and do you do both that and IF??..

  9. david pugh says:

    so how does the Paleo Diet work??

  10. david pugh says:

    thanks i’ll take a look at this

Leave a Reply

