Eating Out, Buying Out, and Tuning Out

Read time: 90 seconds

As some people argue over the best methods to lose weight and get lean, others simply ignore the debate, and just learn how to cook.

Cooking at home is a big step to formulating a dietary lifestyle that can squelch the rise in body disproportion and help promote weight loss.

Commercial food preparation is an obvious yet overlooked driver of weight gain; a decreased reliance on which may be a huge step in reversing the problem.

But decreasing the reliance on commercial food preparation is nearly impossible in a society whose lifestyle is based on general busyness and whose gastronomic belief is that we must eat constantly but having no time to prepare the meal.

Plus, losing weight by reducing the occasions of eating out sounds so boring and downright un-American.

While it’s true that many factors trigger and perpetuate excessive adiposity, incessantly eating out, buying out, and tuning out can be considered a major behavioral cause of weight gain, or at least weight loss failure.

We’ve become a busy society that outsources everything, the most prominent of which being the preparation of our food. Restaurants make our foods. Factories make our foods. Corporations make our foods.

I’m not saying that they all put excessive calories and deleterious ingredients into our food, or spit into it. And I still enjoy eating out with friends and family — I enjoy the whole event surrounding eating out, not just the food.

But cooking at home serves us a much better promise that we’re eating adequate nutrients without excessive calories.

I love to cook. It’s a time to enjoy good music, a glass of wine, a conversation with my wife. Cooking is a human skill shared and enjoyed by cultures across the world, no matter the preparation style or the recipe.

But equally important is what the act of cooking provides: the opportunity to use our imagination, be creative, plan and chart procedures, visualize patterns and colors, organize thoughts, and work with various materials and with our hands. I believe cooking develops or reinforces skills that may be useful in other areas of life.

I also love simple recipes that make great meals. The most disappointing recipes are those that are complicated and yet end in a meal tasting no better than that from a simple recipe.

It’s like a complicated weight loss program vs. a simple weight loss program.

This entry was posted in Dietary Habit, weight Loss and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Eating Out, Buying Out, and Tuning Out

  1. balancingbrianne says:

    hi johnny! i know i haven’t commented in a while, but i’ve still been reading : ) great post – i couldn’t agree more about cooking for ourselves – it’s been one of my greatest strengths in getting close(r) to my ideal weight! thanks!

  2. Marc says:

    My girlfriend tells me that one of her absolute favorites things in our relationship is her sitting at my bar, music in the background, a glass of wine, and watching me prep, cook and coming up with yummy food for us to share….plus our conversations during it. It’s wonderful.

    I don’t know if you experience this also….but outside of sashimi, steak and rotisserie chicken in restaurants, the restaurant food doesn’t make me feel all that good. So I spend a little extra on good wine, quality ingredients and just cook at home.

    Have a great weekend.

    Marc

  3. Greg Linster says:

    Those are all great points Johnny! I couldn’t agree more. On top of everything you mentioned there is also a financial benefit to cooking at home. It’s good for your health, your relationships, and your wallet!

    Cheers,
    Greg

    • Johnny says:

      The money I save by cooking more often at home goes toward quality wine!
      Marc would agree. 🙂

      Best,
      Johnny

  4. Al says:

    Johnny,

    I have been eating LOADS of crap (fast food and pretty much anything non-paleo) all week (actully for several months) and I am truly getting sick. I am a 24 year old “child” who takes blood pressure medicine (something no one my age should ever have to go through).

    Is it safe for me to take at least 2 or 3 days off from food all together? I feel like my body needs a massive break from food.

    Hopefully after the extended fast I will completely shut off crap and stick to real food and eating when i choose to (IF). Thanks!

    • Johnny says:

      I’ve done a 3-day fast, but for a different reason. By the end of the second day, I felt great and could have done it “forever.”

      The fact that you’re on blood pressure medication makes me hesitate to answer your question — you have a medical condition. Check with your doctor first.

      Having said that, I really don’t see anything harmful in not feeding for 2 or three days — someone like you should have plenty of stored calories to live on for at least that long. Intermittent fasting has been shown to lower blood pressure.

      Best,
      Johnny

Leave a Reply

