A Plan for This Week

Read time: 90 seconds


Many of you have been doing intermittent fasting for a while, and some of you have been doing it for shorter periods.

For those with a little (or a lot of) experience, here are a few things to consider doing just for this coming week. See how you feel at the end of the week.

It’s just a simple list. It has brought me down to below 10% body fat and keeping me there for nearly two years.

Fast everyday for 15 to 20 hours. Give your body a chance to metabolize stored fat for energy, instead of using calories from food consumed throughout the day. This fasting period also teaches you to resist against the sensation of hunger, and reminds you that hunger is only temporary.

Eat less processed food. Processed food is typically dense in calories and offers less satiety. It may sharply increase and then blunt blood sugar, potentially triggering hunger. Eat whole, real food instead.

Drink lemon water. When hunger appears, as it naturally does at various levels when going longer between meals, try drinking lemon water. Maybe try coffee, if it’s earlier in the day. You can even just drink water. Just drink any fluid that’s low or void of calories. This often diminishes the sensation of hunger.

Eat with Chopsticks. Find ways to slow the eating process, allowing you to taste the flavors in food and the chance to feel full before you eat more than you need. (Everyone, thus, should own a nice pair of chopsticks.) Studies show that hormones released during eating can trigger fullness and satiety, but these hormones need time to circulate to and signal the brain that eating is actually happening. You can also slow the eating process by enjoying your meals with friends and family, catching up with one another and about each others’ day. This is the tradition of many cultures — slow eating and connecting with each other, when meals can take several hours to complete.

Love your food. Learn to love your food, not your eating. Put focus into the flavors of food, not the act of eating. If you’ve fasted all day, then let yourself enjoy a big meal, and all its courses, if that’s the only meal you eat all day. Chances are you’ll still consume fewer calories in one binge meal, than from full meals all day long with in-between snacks.

Johnny, after enjoying a full-on meal with great wine!

This entry was posted in Dietary Habit, weight Loss and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to A Plan for This Week

  1. Bangkok Jay says:

    Damn Johnny, how quickly you’ve lost the excess from the cruise food carnage!

    You’re making it hard for us to not believe you’ve been gifted with naturally good genes (if it wasn’t for your photo evidence of pre-lean days). Inspiring stuff. Thank you.

    PS down another 3kg in 3 months and chinups went from 5 to 15 max, which continues to amaze me as I could have only dreamt of doing 10 when I started. the best damn exercise. dreaming to hit the marine maximum test score of 20 one day soon.

  2. Mark says:

    Good stuff Johnny. You continue to remind me to use IF when I can. I’m already Paleo but I can do more IF, especially while at work.

  3. Yannick Messaoud says:

    Hey Johnny you look like a million clams, amazing, i really hope that with IF i can get as low as you in term of BF%, still a long way to go but IF is really growing on me right now.

    Thanks for your amazing website and please keep up the good work.

  4. meida says:

    Hi Johny,

    I might be a little slow, but I thought I read here that you had photographs before you arrived to the point you are now (fatloss).

    Could you give me a link to that area if it is here?

    Thanks for your articles.

    • Johnny says:

      Thanks for helping, Chris!

      meida, this picture was taken in March of 2009, right before I started intermittent fasting. In this picture, I was around 15% body fat, down from well over 20%.

      In the picture I was at a weight plateau for a long time. I had been using the Paleo diet, which was helpful to bring the body fat down from over 20%, but it was intermittent fasting that accelerated the loss to well below 10% and has kept me there ever since. Pretty long term weight loss. I’ve never been this lean for so long. You could say this is “long-term weight loss maintenance.”

      Intermittent fasting makes it possible.

      Best,
      Johnny

  5. Al says:

    Johnny,

    I have really been enjoying your last few IF posts and how you are focusing on the liberation and freedom that IFing gives you. I was wondering if you could take that same idea and apply it to fitness. From what I take from your posts over the last couple of months that you have hardly been working out yet you still as cut as ever.

    My question is: how can I apply the “freedom and liberation mindset” and apply it to fitness and working out? Your recent post, in my opinion is the simplest (not easiest per se) way of getting lean. Maybe in the future you can do the same thing in terms of working out. Thanks!

  6. Marc says:

    Looking good brother!

    Talking about wine….I’m not a big Merlot guy, but recently been enjoying “Summit Estates” very nice merlot for $8.99

    When I eat a big one meal a day “dinner” I really enjoy having 2 glasses of wine with it, it also helps slow the eating process. The chopsticks method is great advice. I have a nice set and I also break them out for the kids from time to time for some dinner variety/entertainment.

    Al,
    In regards to workkout liberation….my humble advice is as follows; keep it really simple and figure out WHAT you want to train for. Do you go to the gym for vanity? nothing wrong with that…but that will require a certain type of protocol…..going for functional fitness for a specific sport? That’s going to require something different….
    First figure out what you really want out of the workouts…

    Food is in my opinion the biggest body composition factor….not exercise.

    Marc

  7. Kashka says:

    Dear Johnny
    I know you have said you wanted to lose some muscle mass, but based on the picture you posted above you might want to do some incline bench press. The lack of upper chest is making you look a bit awkward or maybe it’s just the angle of that picture.

    • Johnny says:

      Thanks, Kashka. I don’t do much direct chest work other than burpees. I think, in the picture, it’s the exact moment that the shutter of the camera clicked — I think I flexed my chest for a quick second. It does look odd, with the separation and all. But, relaxed, the chest looks different.

      Good eye.

      Best,
      Johnny

Leave a Reply

