Eat. Drink. Be Merry.

Read time: 2 minutes

The Thorns on the Wreath

It’s a season for joyous celebration. Yet fear underlies it.

Festive music competes with an undertone of media advice telling us to have an elaborate plan of action to avoid weight gain through the holidays — like doubling our time on the treadmill, or eat a “healthy” snack before going off to the holiday party (in which we’ll invariably indulge in every delicious holiday offering anyway).

Serve this instead of that. Eat this instead of that. Do this, do that. Take a traditional dish passed down through the generations and replace it with a replica that looks vaguely similar to grandmother’s recipe but pathetically different in taste, texture and experience.

Who are we fooling? The wreath may look fresh, but it’s full of thorns.

Surviving holiday meals without gaining weight does not have to be complicated, and these should not be meals for which we arm ourselves with obsessive exercise and dietary strategies.

Let’s Relax and Enjoy the Season… Without Gaining Weight

No, I won’t make myself sound like the mundane advice you read in some health club newsletter, regurgitating recommendations to “fill up” on organic carrot sticks and piss-water Michelob Ultra during holiday parties.

Instead, I recommend that we submerge ourselves into the celebratory experiences cherished by countless countries around the world — by almost all of humanity. Whatever your faith or your celebration, you’re likely to spend this special time socially and ultimately around food.

Don’t be the odd person refusing a taste of auntie’s homemade pasta salad, if you actually want some. Don’t be the one passing up the homemade bread. Don’t be the one who rejects the pumpkin pie at the table. Definitely don’t be the one serving up sugarless, crustless, tasteless pumpkin pie.

But also don’t be among the millions entering the new year with the slight weight gain that tends to be permanent.

How do we enjoy the holiday feasts, then, and not carry new weight into the new year without an elaborate exercise or dietary strategy?

Exercise? Let’s Get Real

You already know that you can’t out-exercise a bad diet — and that includes overeating around the holiday.

Exercise and staying active throughout the day may help the body metabolize more calories, but don’t for a second think that killing yourself in the gym can undo what you’ll do at the table. (Killing yourself in the gym burns an extra ginger bread cookie — it’s comical and hardly worth the increased stress, inflammation, time, and obsession.)

Eating? Let’s Get Real

There are endless advice from experts to chose this food or chose that food as alternatives, and futile diet tricks that either no one follows or only add to overall food intake.

Forget the noise. Simply eat less before and/or after the feast. During the feast itself, don’t get into the fashionable practice of replacing traditional dishes with so-called healthier “alternatives” and diminish the meaning of a holiday meal.

Instead of listening to the impractical advice of eating something “healthy” before going off to the holiday party, just don’t eat anything at all — you can hold off until the party. There’s virtue in delaying gratification. (Chances are, even if you eat a snack before going to the party, you’ll still eat just as you would at the party anyway. I mean, let’s get real — it’s a holiday meal.)

In addition to skipping that pre-party snack, how about — gasp! — skipping lunch (or maybe even breakfast, too), and save even more caloric room for the party when you can intoxicate yourself with delicious food, drinks, family, friends and love?

How about taking a break from calorie intake after the feast, because you already know intuitively that your body will carry plenty of caloric energy to take you well through the next day?

Intermittent fasting. Enjoy your holiday for everything it’s worth. It’s OK.

This entry was posted in Dietary Habit, Exercise and Physical Activities, weight Loss and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

45 Responses to Eat. Drink. Be Merry.

  1. Pingback: Eat. Drink. Be Merry. | The Lean Saloon | Eats healthy

  2. Lee says:

    Ok, finally the truth!!! You cannot exercise off any overeating. Such a relief!! This post will help everyone during this holiday season? Thank you, thank you!!!

  3. Greg Linster says:

    Great stuff Johnny! Here was my Thanksgiving strategy that worked wonders: fast 16 hours beforehand, feast (nothing was off limits), and then fast 20 hours afterward. Simple.

    • Johnny says:

      Solid. It was so easy for me, too, to enjoy Thanksgiving with friends and family — a long, mellow gathering. The best part, in addition to being with people you love, was enjoying seconds for homemade pumpkin pie, banana pie, and Kasekuchen. With icecream on all trips back. Good friends and family around the table. And good wine.

      Of course, back to eating mostly whole, real food… and daily intermittent fasting (DIF).

      Johnny

  4. Jordan D. says:

    I envy those who only overeat on the actual holiday! I overate from the weekend before to the weekend after! lol. Slaps forehead.

    • Sue says:

      I like the advice from Greg above to fast for 16 hours before feast and 20 hours after feast. But like Jordan once I start in on the food I find it really hard to stop and get back into eating healthy foods again for about a week or so. If I just force that 20 hour fast after feast maybe this will help get me on the straight and narrow.
      I am one of those people who lost weight and got to about 60kg then gained it all back and some to top 80kg. I am now 67kg so still need to lose more weight. I also need a strategy to not put it all back on again when at goal weight. Maybe I deprive myself of certain foods too long and then when at goal go crazy with it.

      • David says:

        I guess for me this is a way of life. Every day for me is a 16 – 20 hour fast seeing that I only eat once per day. Given that I finished my last meal at 6:30 PM yesterday and I won’t eat today until about 9:00 PM this evening because of meetings and other functions, this will be a 26 hour fast.

        When I first started this way of life (August), my appetite was ravenous during my one meal per day. However, after a couple of weeks I don’t know if my stomach got smaller or if I just found self control, but that stopped being a problem for me.

        One thing that did help was committing to follow a 100% Paleo diet. This change cut out most of the starchy pastas, bread and sugar that enabled me to be so destructive to my body. Of course, I still allow myself to enjoy these things on special occasion (i.e. Thanksgiving / Christmas) but on every other day I am focusing on whole meats and vegetables. I try to make sure that every evening meal has one meat entrรฉe and at least three types of vegetables. I can’t think of a healthier way to eat.

        Also, since August of this year I have lost over 50 lbs so this intermittent fasting thing seems to really work for me.

      • Johnny says:

        David,

        A 50-pound weight loss since August is incredible. Congrats.

        I want to remind readers that the rate of weight loss is an individual thing. If we have some weight to lose, we all know what to do. And if we do it, then it will come off eventually. Stress-free.

        Best,
        Johnny

  5. Navi says:

    Yeah, thanksgiving this year was awesome. My first on IF. I enjoyed it more than usual, since I was really truly hungry for all that delicious butter-laden food, 100% guilt free. My strategy for the delicious homemade cookies, etc. that pop up in the office this time of year: accept one or two gratefully, eat later during the eating window. I love IF.

    I particularly hate all those articles telling you how to eat healthily for the thanksgiving meal. It’s one day, for pete’s sake, even if you are fat and have the worst diet in the world, one freakin day won’t make that much difference overall, just enjoy it!

  6. David says:

    This is my first holiday on IF as well. Over Thanksgiving week I lost 3lbs. That was after eating all the turkey I could handle, mashed potatoes with gravy, stuffing, green bean casserole, fruit salad, pumpkin pie and a host of other things I can’t remember.

    Only secret is that I only eat after 5pm. Zero calories from waking up until then. I love this lifestyle that allows me to eat, feel full and still lose weight.

    Let’s see how much I can lose the week of Christmas.

  7. iniquity says:

    While I generally agree that fasting before and/or after is a good strategy for dealing with potential fat/weight gain I don’t really see anything wrong with refusing certain food items. I guess this is a personal thing for me, but I’m not in love with the idea of just eating whatever is placed in front of you just because “it’s the holidays!”

    What I’m saying is, if you want to eat it, by all means, go ahead.

    If you don’t want to, I don’t think you should feel obligated to.

    You didn’t point towards the latter, but you do repeat the same mantra of “don’t be a weirdo and eat up!” which I have a bit of a problem with because I deal with it rather often. People just can’t cope with the fact that *gasp* I don’t really like pasta! I like the sauces it’s made with, but I could do without the flour.

    Anyway, I really love reading your blog so keep serving it up!

    • Johnny says:

      “What Iโ€™m saying is, if you want to eat it, by all means, go ahead.”

      This is the point of the post. I do agree with your contrasting point. If we truly don’t like something, that’s a different story — and this applies to any meal gathering during the year. I’ll tell you that I’ve shared the table with many diet militants — and in the past I’ve been that weirdo myself.

      Thanks, iniquity, for reading TLS.

      Best,
      Johnny

  8. Audley says:

    Derby pie, pumpkin pie, some great decadent food. We did do an all natural turkey which tasted better than the standard injected with “who knows what” bird.
    As a diabetic did feel a bit poorly after the pie, the next day did breakfast then a 12 hour fast, back to normal within a day or so.
    How many people have you met that go on a diet, lose a ton of weight, then go back to the way they ate before the diet and gain it all back plus some? With IF it’s the opposite, maybe gain some weight going off the eating lifestyle, but back to where you want to be in a short time.
    I had sustained a bodywieght of 166-168 the past few years. After going to 162 last month to make weight for a powerlift meet, I like how I feel and will now stay there by most days, continuing to eliminate regular snacks between meals, or skip a meal. It works.

    • Stephen says:

      Audley,

      This is brilliant: it’s the opposite of when people go on a strict diet, lose wait, force themselves to eat food they eat and then go back to their way of eating and regain all the lost weight and have an even worse health than they had before.

      Since I’ve learned that any time I really feel sick because of blood sugar all over the place or excessive eating, I just have to stop eating till I feel better, I feel in total control of my health and my body compared to before when I felt like a puppet whose strings are being pulled by destiny or chance.

      It’s so easy: have you eaten too much? Eat less or fast the next meals till you feel great again. Have you eaten too much processed food? Eat more natural fresh food the next meals till you feel great again? Your blood sugar is too high? Eat veggies or fast till it is normal again and won’t spike if you eat something (read how Lee Shurie defeated diabetes with IF on his webpage)

      I really don’t know why balancing is so hard for so many people. Overtrained? Rest. Rested too much? Push yourself a bit more. Didn’t sleep enough? Sleep more. Ate too much? Eat less. Instead I see people always adding more stress in top of the stress they’re already suffering from, like people who claim to have stomachache because of an heavy lunch, but when someone says “dinner time” they eat anyway and a lot too, regardless of how sick they feel.

  9. Stephen says:

    Children do this all the time.
    I know this 8 years old boy and he often says “I don’t want lunch mom, it’s pizza tonight and I want to eat a lot of it” or for example after a big lunch he refused to eat dinner saying “the lunch is still inside me” and if he is very busy with something like playing or watching tv and the mom calls for lunch or dinner he often says “my body doesn’t care it’s lunch/dinner time, I’m not hungry”. I swear he has a six pack and lot of energy.

    The bad thing is that the parents and relative literally shove food down his throat, like when we’re at the beach and he is busy swimming and playing on the water and the mother call for a sandwich snack and he says “I don’t care for it” then the mother starts blackmailing him saying “If you don’t eat your snack I won’t let you play on the water again”.

    • Johnny says:

      Stephen, I’ve observed this, too, in kids.

      Deprive a person completely of cultural memes, and the person will reconnect with the primal-self.

      Concerning diet and exercise, I always ask myself: what would I have done 200,000 years ago?

      Best,
      Johnny

      • Al says:

        Thousands of years ago people were fasting (excluding for religious purposes) all of the time and probably didn’t even know it. It also helps that the selection of food back then was pretty much cut down to real food anyway. They did not have the knowledge like we do but they made up for it in lack of having to choose junk to eat. Good stuff!

  10. Turling says:

    Excellent, sound, easy advice. I fasted the Friday after Thanksgiving until 7 pm at which time I enjoyed a fantastic turkey, mashed potato and yam sandwich. And a Guinness. Did the same Saturday. Easy.

  11. lolo says:

    nah, i have to disagree here. first i really don’t need to prepare or “hold off”. i don’t fast in order to eat ( specially crap) i just fast every day. and then i eat. a lot. is my habit so i just act without thinking at all… so no silly plans here. also i don’t really give a fk about what other people thinks! so yea i NEVER eat CRAP like pasta, breads and refined garbage with absolutely no nutritional value, why eating crap ? is not about “intoxication” food is not entertainment to me, i think Americans like to eat processed baby food and that sht is there just to stimulate your scenes so you never stop eating, i go for the more authentic and sophisticated flavors that promote satiety, eat crap and you will never stop eating… crap. eat meat, Roquefort cheese, mushrooms, you know real food, leave the pasta to the fatties ๐Ÿ˜„

    • Stephen says:

      I disagree with you on so many levels
      Food is not just fuel, such a view will never work and no matter if someone can tolerate this non-human perspective for years, eventually it will backfires.

      Food, even for the most primitive societies, is socialization, pleasure, culture, spirituality and fun. It’s one of the most powerful instinct in humans, the cultural nature of food which helped the process of civilization like nothing else and it’s the reason why we’re all wired to feel uncomfortable when everyone is eating but we don’t.

      I remember when I would think “why my friends should care if I join them at the pizzeria but don’t eat. What really matters is the conversation and the presence, food doesn’t matter” But I was dead wrong and the sense of detachment they felt sitting next to someone who wasn’t eating while all of them were wasn’t just something due to their eating habits but something biological and universally instinctive.

      And in my opinion pasta is not crap and certainly is not devoid of nutritional value unless you don’t consider carbohydrates, selenium, manganese, phosphorous, magnesium, potassium and others as nutrients. I agree with you it is less nutrient rich than veggies but this doesn’t mean it is nutritionally empty. It’s food and no one is less healthy for eating a dish of pasta and you’re not healthier for not eating it. People on very restrictive diet plans think they’re healthier than what they be if their diet was less restrictive but this is never the case.

      Acting without thinking is never a good idea.

      • Navi says:

        Thank you Stephen for articulating what I wanted to say in reply to Lolo, but in a much more elegant way. Basically it boils down to: a world in which I refuse to sit down with family during the holidays and eat the food my mother (and others) made with love, out of some warped sense of superiority and food-rigidity is no world I want to inhabit. I get really annoyed when diet fascists assume that if you are not in total compliance to whatever arbitrary dietary rules they have adopted (low carb, no fructose, no pufa, never any starch, make sure to eat chia seeds, bla bla bla….on and on and on) you are eating complete crap 24 hours a day. What we are talking about here is being able to splurge a bit at celebrations, not hogging down “processed baby food” (I have no idea what that even means) and “intoxication food” all day long. I once attended a lovely party on a lake. Clustered around the buffet table, which was laden with delicious foods the hosts had prepared, were about 6 killjoys, going on and on and on about the evil of carbs, and not eating anything (this was early Atkins days), and patting themselves on the back about how virtuous they were. Yawn. Rude and boring. Hint: if ya don’t want to eat something at a party, or when it’s offered to you, don’t go on and on about it. A polite no thanks without the sermonizing is just fine.

    • joe says:

      I’m sure your mother is very proud of you…

      ๐Ÿ˜‰

  12. lolo says:

    saying that pasta and pizza are crap is just recognizing the truth, now if you are THAT hooked to eating crap by all means enjoy it with your friends and relatives
    but don’t fool yourself thinking for a second that it is spiritual, fun or the “humane thing to do” i bet your body disagrees! XD. about huger if you feel it wile watching others eat then you are definitely doing something wrong. its up to you to find out what (use more salt? stop eating refined trash? ) btw here is a recent pic of me , im 32 and i eat LOTS and LOTS of delicious REAL foods, i bet 2 or 3 times more that youll ever do. yes looking at most people i do consider my way of eating superior

    • Johnny says:

      lolo, let’s grow up. You’re making assumptions about the relationship between food and health, at best. No one cares for your dietary elitism and your arrogance. Your tone in the comments have revealed nothing more than immaturity. Get over yourself.

      Johnny

  13. lolo says:

    Yes, lets, i think you also need to grow up. Me i dont have to, im just passing by , you have the power to influence lots of people with your ramblings. IF is just one of the pieces of the puzzle. Yet you seem to think thats THE only one that maters and recklessly ignore all the other that are just as important if not MORE in the long therm ( mainly proper evolutionary nutrition, now apparently even correct strength training, etc) there are other tools there: cardio, sleeping, paleo, but you ignore it all for the sake of comfort and hedonism.

    • Johnny says:

      lolo, because you’re just “passing by,” you apparently didn’t read old posts where I talk about eating Paleo and living a life in which critical evolutionary elements are preserved. Once again, your comment is full of self-absorbed assumption.

      Also, in my 20 years of being in the strength training industry, I’ve studied in details the work of Dr Verkhoshansky, Dr. Mel Siff, Arkady Vorobvev, Dr. Michael Yessis, Arthur Drechsler, Louis Simmons, and a host of other great strength coaches and professors who contributed not just to the world of strength and power athletes but also to the literature on strength training.

      My degree is in Sports Medicine, and I continue to read scientific literature on diet and metabolism. I’ve competed in several mainstream sports and in several iron competitions, including powerlifting, olympic-style weightlifting, and bodybuilding.

      So that we can take you with even a glint of seriousness, what is your background in all of this? Reading Paleo blogs?

      TLS is focused on intermittent fasting. How you eat is up to you. If you’re more than just a “passer by,” then you also know that I encourage a diet based on whole, real food.

      And yes, I enjoy periodical hedonism, as well as the comfort of being with family and good friends. While you think that you eat a superior diet, we think that you live an inferior lifestyle.

      Johnny

      • DeanT says:

        Johnny,

        Great reply!

        I’m glad I found your blog, and your reply to lolo seals it for me. Your last statement… enjoying occasional hedonism and enjoying family and friends… is exactly how I feel. Being antisocial is for the birds, and the psychos.

        Thanks for a great blog!

      • T Sanders says:

        Johnny,

        What a sharp and eloquent reply.

        I’ve been following The Lean Saloon style for a year, and in this course I have lost more than 40 pounds, significantly lowered my blood pressure, and regain control of my blood sugar (tested by my doctor for pre-diabetes).

        I’ve also adopted your hassle-free exercise routine that allowed me to spend much less time in the gym because my life is extremely busy (business, family, children, mortgage, etc.), which has a direct relationship on long-term commitment to exercise and physical activity.

        I now see muscles and definition in places I’ve never seen in my entire life, and it’s been incredibly stress-free and simple.

        In short, I have no idea what this lolo is talking about when he accuses you of being reckless by ignoring the other pieces of the puzzle like evolutionary nutrition, paleo, sleep, cardio, etc. You’ve been nothing but helpful to me.

        Please keep up such a self-less blog. I’ve been helped tremendously.

        Thank you, thank you, thank you.

        Tim

    • Navi says:

      Lolo, please learn to spell. And improve your use of grammar. Thank you.

      • Sue says:

        I think English is not Lolo’s first language. Regardless, Lolo you need to lighten up. If we eat pretty darn good most of the time you can afford to have family dinners, special occasions where you eat some of the not so good for you foods. I think the successful weight-loss maintainers are those that can do this. Its those who are guilt-stricken by eating for instance a piece of cake that inevitably put all the weight back on and some, like I have on numerous occasions. This time I’m trying a different approach. If your way works for you then brilliant but it doesn’t work for the majority.

      • Liz says:

        While English may not be lolo’s first language, cordiality is a universal language that lolo seems to have no skill in. And this is to speak nothing of his skill in the universal language of intelligence. ๐Ÿ˜‰

        Johnny, my husband and I truly enjoy The Lean Saloon. We’ve benefited from and continue to be inspired by your writing on this topic. Keep up the wonderful content!

    • Stephen says:

      You sound like a victim of a diet-cult, like I was. And yet such cults has failed to produce any relevant evidence of the wild claims making by his cultist followers and writers.

      Just like the low-fat cult, the low-carb one is riddled with zealous lunatics that seems to need some twinkies in their diet just to regain some perspective and balance in their thought processing, hypocrisy from individuals who obsess over natural foods and then make money sending meal replacements, from people who call themselves doctors and can’t even deal on discussions in a mature way and without resorting to name calling, from LC books and cookbooks authors who keep regaining and losing, falling off the wagon and trying so more in spite of sci-fi theories about carbs and weight loss. Yes, controlling carbs and not going overboard has merits, but none of the people who think they need to strictly eat 20 grams of carbs a day in order to be healthier or have lower insulin levels (but LC dieters don’t exhibit lower insulin levels than others, insulin role is just another of many OCD myths) really need that and none would be less healthier by eating a sandwich with white bread.

      Paleo eating is another cult, the theory has merits but it has just become another dogma with its gurus. There’s actually almost no evidence for the idea that we will be healthier if we eat just like we hypothesize our ancestors ate.
      And I see no more health and balance among the paleo eaters than among the low-fat eaters or the macrobiotic eaters . Where I see an higher percentage of health and balance is in people like Johnny and others who are using their blosg to help people realize it’s time to abandon the diet mentality, the cultists mindset and to just stopping obessing over food when it’s pretty clear that people who are obsessed with eating 100% clean are not any healthier than people who just eat whatever they want, but in a smart way and listening to how they feel rather than to someone else rules.

      As a rough guideline it has merits because the food has an higher nutritional density and satiety power. As a dogma it doesn’t make any sense as any other nutritional dogma I hope will disappear forever once the diet mentality will become a social thing of the past just like duels at dawn have become and people will learn to just eat, because doing the math, obsessing over food, listening to other people rules, beating yourself for not following whatever dogma to a T, watching the clocks, counting the carbs, dating the food to determined whether it was there hundreds of years ago (too bad there are hundreds of theories as to when a food appeared in our diet, with sources saying we didn’t eat grains and others showing grains ashes on paleo sites or sources saying cooking tubers is a recent thing and other saying we discovered fire and cooked starches 1 millions of years sooner than what many believe or high school textbooks say) isn’t eating, it’s turning the most instinctive and simple thing into an obsessive compulsive disorder. That’s unhealthier than eating a diet of ice-cream and french fries.

      The truth is that being healthy is easier than we think and we’re adaptable enough to be able to live healthily without a Ph.D in sport physiology or a regimented theoretical diet to stick to. All the little details people obsess over in order to be healthy are just useless and without them they would be just as healthy if not healthier. Only the basics are relevant and the basics are: eat according to how you feel and balance your nutrition using the feedback of your body on a day to day basis, raise your heart rate from time to time and move enough.

      I suggest everyone to take the orthorexia test. Didn’t believe in orthorexia in the past because I was a cultist follower of dietary “isms” but I can see now it is very real and remembering what it felt like I’d rather be a non obsessive compulsive junk food eater than a obsessive compulsive clean food eater.

      http://www.quizazz.com/quiz.php/200413/Orthorexia-Self-Test/

  14. Lee says:

    Johnny, lolo needs to go go!!!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  15. Jordan D. says:

    Nothing wrong with balance, flexibility, and having a social life.

    Many people have achieved success with a variety of approaches. Lolo has achieved success one way, Johnny has achieved success another way, and many other people have done many other things to reach their goals. There is no one way.

    Although Johnny’s way is pretty damn appealing. ๐Ÿ™‚

  16. Lee says:

    Stephen, Amen on your informative post.

  17. Stephen says:

    I saw another lolo post in which he says he eats chocolate, ice cream, roquefort cheese, meat, almond, milk and I agree with him that these are good tasty foods.

    But since when ice cream, roquefort and chocolate are paleo? Why such hatred for pasta compared to ice cream. I don’t hate any food but pasta is gentler on my blood sugar than ice cream is, according to old glucometer readings.

  18. lolo says:

    Your credentials mean nothing if you are wrong. I think you are a slave of that “lifestyle” of yours. So yea “liberate” my arse. You are not free. You still have the cravings, you still need to cheat ( cheat what? yourself laughable) in order to feel good. Guess what i don’t have to cheat anymore. There is no need. So yea keep eating the crap that HURTS YOU IN THE LONG THERM, and see how far your adrenals go.( btw im not a “paleo” nut, im optimal @ hyperlipid) and i enjoyed my “cheats” eating my dark chocolate and “home made” icecream. i dont even need to do that anymore.

    “we think that you live an inferior lifestyle”

    thats great. im still going to live much longer ( and feel much better) than any pizza and pasta eater ๐Ÿ˜„ btw how many people here can make 30 weighted chin ups in row carrying 15 kg in the back? i bet my ass you cant do that Johnny

    • Stephen says:

      That’s just your belief lolo, I don’t think your 10% of more strictness will make you live longer. I hope you’ll live a long life but I doubt it will be because you’re a more strict than others. You’re not talking with junk food eaters who undereat on proteins, eats 300 grams of sugar daily, are overweight, don’t train and never touch vegetables. There are studies showing that there no difference between those eating 100% clean and those eating 80% clean and 20% junk. Absolutely those 20% more doesn’t improve health any further. And I don’t think junk food or neolithic food is the reason why people are sick. We all know super healthy people who lived past 100 and ate whatever they want and never gave a thought to health. We know that a lot of health populations eat bread, pasta, rice. Overweight is more of a problem. You know a junk food diet that doesn’t cause overweight but actually makes you lose weight, because it’s hypocaloric, actually improves ones blood profile and makes you healthier in spite of it being 90% junk.

      There are lot of people with perfectly healthy adrenals who never thought about dieting, about food regimen and just eat a typical diet with mashed potatoes, chicken, pizza, coca-cola, doritos but their adrenals didn’t collapse of anything, it’s not like only 0.1% of the population has healthy adrenals, such thing has never been proven. I think there are more people with healthy adrenals in spite of a standard diet than people with adrenal problems.

      I don’t think strenght doesn’t have anything to do with food. Sorry, eating french fries won’t make you less strong. It’s the stimulus from resistance training that makes your muscles stronger and/or bigger. In fact if you wear a leg or arm cast, you lose up to 70% of all your muscle regardless of whatever diet you are eating. Also you might be taller or have a bigger frame than Johnny or me, doesn’t seem like a fair or relevant comparison.

      Let me tell you I’m not cheating and I don’t look forward to cheat. Cheats is what you do when you’re on a diet, when you count the days to the end of the diet when you can stuff your face off junk food and when you’re afraid to fall of the wagon. Since I’m not a diet I don’t have forbidden food or allowed food and I don’t have cheat and I can’t fall off the wagon or be not strict enough. I just eat instinctively but with my head attacched to the body, using my brain. It’s like istinct removes reason and reason removes instinct, the two can collaborate.

      Also remember that lot of people won’t feel good and actually would have a worsening of their health with your diet. Just seek place like “active low-carb forums” where people discuss high-fat or homo optimus or hyperlipid or ketogenic diet. A lot of people after months of such diet just became sick, had insulin resistance, couldn’t tolerate many foods, had a terrible mood. There are so many variables like sensitivity to serotonin, low endorphins receptors, poor adaptation to ketones… there are even people who have an higher insulin response to fat than to carbs, sugar and proteins.

      Remember that Johnny blog is not just about IF, but it’s mostly about simplifying your life, stop following someone’s else rules and listening to your body, repel the diet and fitness mongers and abandoninh the OCD idea that being stricter will make your life, health, brain, intelligence, social status, longevity better.

      • Stephen says:

        And by the way, when you start talking like that, like some kind of zealous cult follower with such an holier than thou attitude and no amount of critical thinking, I would really have doubt about my diet. Seems like it is messing with your thought processes and mood. I have met people like that before who were on ketogenic or high-fat diet and the only think that made them rational and peaceful again was few starches. And they are the first ones to admit how the diet was making them lunatic and aggressive.

    • Johnny says:

      lolo, I’ve done that with a 45-pound dumbbell between my feet. But this kind of shit means nothing to me because muscle strength is not a measure of intellect, nor right or wrong.

      Your comments reveal low-level logic and mostly void of critical thinking. Your tone is aggressive. Take them elsewhere.

      Johnny

  19. Jordan D. says:

    So the ultimate test of knowledge, insight, and wisdom is how many chin ups one can do? lol. That’s so immature. Very, very immature.

  20. KevinT says:

    Whoa … I was away and hadn’t read the blog for little while and it looks like there was a “party” goin’ on here. haha

Leave a Reply

