Quick Update and a Quick Read

Just a quick update.

I’m still around and keeping this blog close by at heart. I just haven’t had the time recently to add blog entries, although there are lots of things still to be said about the health benefits of intermittent fasting… like: Hunger makes you active, and being active helps lead you to better health.

Even if you exercise formally, being inactive for the rest of the day can significantly compromise health.

The point is this: in contrast to the popular (though misguided) advice of eating 5 or 6 small meals a day, it may be much healthier to fast between meals.

Some mental food to chew on…

I will return in the new year at full force to continue the blog. I hope everyone enjoys a safe and happy new year!

Best,

Johnny

This entry was posted in Dietary Habit. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Quick Update and a Quick Read

  1. Jordan D. says:

    Happy holidays, Johnny! 🙂

  2. Johnny says:

    I worked the past 15 years in an office setting, sitting down all day long. Then, I would go home and sit some more, eating dinner, watching TV, at the computer. I was laid off earlier this year, and it has probably been the best thing for me. I decided that I will not sit down again during the day. I worked one job for a while which was at a desk, but I fashioned it in a way that allowed me to stand and work. I left that job, and now work doing valet parking. I am on my feet most of the day, standing, walking and running to get cars. I feel much better, even though I have had a few muscle aches here and there that stretching has helped alleviate. The moral of the story is, office work may pay well, but you end up paying much more in the end. I want to do whatever I can to keep working on my feet.

  3. Lillea says:

    I’m looking forward to your posts in 2011!

    I definitely feel better if I move around a lot during a day. I work at home so I can usually get up from my computer chair when I want to, but sometimes I have to remind myself to do it. It’s easy to get sucked into the online world and not move enough.

    For years I have paced around as I’ve read books and used other strategies to make sure that I don’t sit around too much. A more recent strategy is using my iPod Touch to access the internet so I can walk around as I read or compose emails.

  4. Marc says:

    Hi Johnny,

    Best wishes for a magical 2011!

    Marc

Leave a Reply

