The Family Meal

Read time: 30 seconds

Those of you who are long-term readers know that I put great importance into eating — an act significant enough that meals should be shared with friends and/or family as often as possible.

Don’t let a meal go by thoughtlessly as though it is a second-thought unworthy of your experience, attention, and your circle of friends and family.

I wanted to share with you all this great article I just found (pdf).

Eat well.

This entry was posted in Dietary Habit and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Family Meal

  1. Mimi says:

    So true! This article really speaks to me. Some of my best childhood memories were family meals. It’s funny…my dad and I always ate out when I was younger, because he couldn’t cook and didn’t want to hire one. I had a horrendous relationship with him when I first moved back in, but the single biggest way we formed a bond was through our dinners together, just talking. At a restaurant you can’t watch TV or check email (this was before Smartphones). So yes, family meals mean a lot to me.

  2. Sondra Rose says:

    Family meals mean a lot to me, too–but, most of them were negative experiences! An angry, exhausted father, overworked mother and too many siblings created a chaotic and stressful experience for me. I am, frankly, not very interested in sharing meals with my family of origin…they still seem to end up with an argument, lol!

    It was a revelation to create a “family culture” with my husband where we eat when we are hungry and have “dates” to eat together a few times a week. Now that I have enjoyed the freedom of no expectations around mealtimes, I enjoy the shared ones more.

    Unfortunately, most of our friends eat raw or vegan or vegetarian, so it makes sharing a meal an interesting experience to say the least!

    • Johnny says:

      Hi Sondra,

      I have a few good friends who found and cherish “family” along the path of life. These people are no less family to each other than those from the same womb or with the same genes. (I personally know this.)

      It is not all the time that we can share a meal with friends or family and must therefore eat alone, but the circumstance should not take away the importance of food and the act of eating.

      Thank you for your comment, which has an important perspective.

      Best,
      Johnny

Leave a Reply

