Intermittent Fasting and Eating Disorders

Read time: 30 seconds

Some internet forums and blogs have discussions of intermittent fasting, and often they’re sidetracked with references to eating disorders.

The reality is: those with eating disorders will find a home in any diet. No diet or dietary lifestyle is free from people inflicted with this terrible eating disorder. Eating disorder is non-denominational.

Intermittent fasting, as I’ve said before, is simply intermittent eating. Intermittent fasting is healthy; an eating disorder is long-term, self-inflicted severe calorie restriction. The latter is a devastating sickness whose end-result is a systemic compromise of physiology.

Eating disorder has no place on The Lean Saloon.

This entry was posted in Dietary Habit and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Intermittent Fasting and Eating Disorders

  1. Chris says:

    Hey!
    I started reading your site a couple of days ago. I’m from Germany, studying biology and sports, gonna be a teacher.
    I’m on a paleo diet since last summer. Nevertheless I couldn’t really reach a bf under 10%. Right now I’m maybe at 13 (or lower), lost nearly 17KG (34 pounds). Last time I tried to gain muscle by eating primal (high fat etc.). Although I trained hard, I gained muscle, but also some fat. I think I’m in a good shape, but I want (your) “ripped” look. I still got some stubborn body fat (e.g. lower back).
    I really love your site and the way you are looking at things.
    I’ve tried IF two times so far and right now I’m on a 48 hours fast. It’s really so easy. Then I’ll follow your approach (regarding eating window and so on). I’m still excited about how I feel right now. I cannot really describe it. Actually it’s like using a drug.
    I found Ori Hofmekler’s “Maximum Muscle, Minimum Fat” on my bookshelf. It’s a great book and supports all your advices.

    I’m sure that I’ll lose those last pounds. You’ve really inspired me and I hope you’ll continue your blog. The guys here in Germany are years behind you in the U.S. regarding science, training, eating and so on. I think it’s like a wave. Things you know in the U.S. right now, gonna be here in Germany in 10 years or so. Obviously we are not as passionate as you. So I’m glad reading “modern” things online, while some of my friends still believe in eating 6 meals a day, drinking tons of “mass gainer” shakes…

    So, I enjoy your blog.
    Best regards from Germany!

  2. Sue says:

    Yes eating disorders always seem to come up when discussing IF on the forum I often visit. Also thyroid is discussed a lot.

  3. Dan says:

    Thank you for this post. The subtlety of wording Eating Disorder may be lost to some who have no personal experience with Eating Disorder C:.
    As a recovered anorexic, part of having a healthy relationship with food is eating foods I enjoy, in a way I enjoy, while maintaining a healthy weight. Nothing is off limits. Nothing CAN be off limits for the eating disordered person, lest they want to reinforce the disorder.
    IF allows flexibility while maintaining a healthy weight (and body composition). It works both ways, from fat and from skinny, towards the often sought ideal of “minimal body fat, with muscle,” in my experience.
    Lovin’ your great posts!

    -Dan

  4. Pingback: 4 day fast | Mark's Daily Apple Health and Fitness Forum page 4

Leave a Reply

